Bardo’s 25th Sept. 3rd, BUYEPONGO Stylee… words by Listen Recovery

bardo

I am the son of a Colombian mother and Mexican father born in Santa Ana Califorinia in 1984. Since that day I have crawled, then walked, then ran towards a search for deeper meaning that no school system had ever provided me. Art and music have been and are for me my premier outlets for this search.

My musical influences have been mostly shaped by my love for sixties and seventies music imbedded in me since I can remember by my father’s mix tapes, records, and cds. Since then my appreciation for this era has multiplied exponentially and has taken my soul to Brazil, (Caetano Veloso/ Tropicalia) and has rooted it to my mother’s soil, Andres Landero/ Colombian folklore.

Buyepongo is the way I express these roots, playing the accordion, composing and singing songs in order to express the energy that Colombia, its’ people, and its’ ancestral music have bred within me.  BARDO MARTINEZ

The crew took the night off from rehearsals to celebrate the birth of Bardo Martinez lead vocals and accordion player for the band.  La Mirada, home of Martinez’.  It was a gathering full of Cumbia tracks and Vallenato tunes.  From the collection of mp3’s by Renz (Listen Recovery) and the recoveries from Bardo’s trip to Colombia  We also celebrated the return of percussionist Kevin Linares (Buyepongo) who had just arrived a day prior from his Panama and Costa Rica trip.  Kevin shared some nice tracks by legendary accordionist ‘Pancho Polo Valencia’.  Bardo was kind to share some of his exclusive recordings from Buyepongo and LP’s from Cartagena.  We also played some Peruvian cumbias by Juaneco y su Combo.  It was a fun night.  Not to mention the Salvadorian ‘pupusas’ by Bardo’s mom and some cold Colombiana (Colombian Soda).  Here are some of the flix from our celebration.  Dale Buyecero!!!

bardo1

larrywill

bardofam

bardofam2

bardomom

bu1

rnz

buyepongo

pongo

colombiana

discos

mesclador

whatmore

randy

tables

sets

buyeceros2

jack

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BARDO!

One Response to “Bardo’s 25th Sept. 3rd, BUYEPONGO Stylee… words by Listen Recovery”

  1. ….heavy duty…mang…..recovery baby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    gracias hermano del corazon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    -b

Leave a Reply

